Bangladesh University (BU) became the hat-trick champion in the Clemon Indoor Uni Cricket Tournament 2023

Bangladesh University brought home the champion trophy in the 7th season of the Clemon Indoor Uni Cricket Tournament 2023. Today, Thursday, July 27, 2023, the BU cricket team won the title for the consecutive 3rd time defeating Stamford University (SU) by 5 wickets in the final held in the Mirpur Shaheed Sohrawardhi Indoor Stadium.

Losing the toss, SU went to bat. However, the beginning was not so good. They lost their first five wickets to get 57 runs on the scoreboard. Though they did not feel comfortable even after that. None of the batsmen could cross the double-digit quota. The team's highest individual 37 runs came from the bye runs. Subsequently, they could not score more than 63 runs after losing all the wickets in the scheduled 8 overs. For Bangladesh University, Sohel Rana took 3 wickets for 10 runs, Abdul Gaffar 2 wickets for 7 runs, and Shafiq 1 wicket for 18 runs.

Bangladesh University's two openers Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Zahirul Islam came to bat to win the title. They had a good start to the innings, but captain Shanto returned with a catch for 16 runs. At one stage, BU lost two striking batsmen to score 26 runs on the scoreboard.

Then, Sohel Rana took the lead of the team. Thanks to his impeccable batting, BU easily reached the port of victory. Sohel Rana scored an unbeaten 42 off 15 balls with the help of five sixes and three boundaries. Bangladesh University won the title for the third time after beating SU in Sohel's all-round charismatic performance. Stamford's Alamgir took 2 wickets for 10 runs.

At the end of the final, the members of the organizing committee handed over the trophy to the captain of the winning team. BU received Tk. 5 lakh as prize money for being the champion. And the runner-up Stamford University received 2 lakh. Bangladesh national cricket team's three former stars Atahar Ali Khan, Akram Khan, and Khaled Masood Pilot's 'Three Creeks' as usual organized this tournament.

Nazmul Hossain Shanto, captain of Bangladesh University, became the 'tournament best' among 32 university teams. Sohel Rana, who led Bangladesh University to a great victory, was selected as Man of the Final. In the final, he got 42 runs and 3 wickets for 10 runs.

Trustee Board Chairman, of Bangladesh University, Quazi Jamil Azhar, and Acting Vice-Chancellor of BU Professor Dr. Md. Jahangir Alam congratulated the players, coaches and officials on the team's victory.